Visas for Thailand

Short-Stay Visa Exemptions

Citizens of 41 different nationalities, including Australia, NZ, USA, USA and most of Europe, can enter Thailand without a pre-arranged visa. This ‘visa exemption’ allows you to stay 30 days when entering Thailand by air, and 15 days when crossing into Thailand by land. The list of applicable nationalities is shown right.

Without proof of an onward ticket and sufficient funds for your expected stay any visitor can be denied entry, but in practice this is a formality that is rarely checked.

60-Day Tourist Visa

If you intend to stay in Thailand for longer than 30 days (arriving by air) or 15 days (arriving by land), you should apply for a 60-day Tourist Visa. You will need to apply for this visa from your nearest Thai Consulate or Embassy. The application may take up to a week to be processed.  Contact the nearest Thai embassy or consulate for more information.

Visa Extensions

Once in Thailand, if you wish to extend your stay, you can apply for a visa extension at any Thai Immigration Office for a fee of around 1900 Baht. Your stay can be extended by 7- 10 days (depending on the immigration office) if the extension is handled before the visa expires.

The 60-day tourist visa can be extended by up to 30 days at the discretion of Thai immigration authorities.

Visa Runs

Another way to extend your stay in Thailand is to cross a land border, and then cross back into Thailand – commonly known as a visa run. A new 15-day visa will be issued upon your return. Most travel agencies in Thailand offer ‘visa run’ day tours, allowing you to easily extend your visa.

What if you overstay your visa?

If you overstay your visa, the usual penalty is a fine of 500 Baht per day, with a 20,000 Baht limit. Fines can be paid at the airport or in advance at an immigration office. If you’ve overstayed only one day, you don’t have to pay. If you overstay your visa for an extended period, penalties will be more severe and you may not be permitted to return to Thailand.

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brazil (90 days)
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile (90 days)
  • Czech
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Peru (90 days)
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea (90 days)
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Vietnam